It All Started Here!

It all started at this elementary school over eight years ago!  I entered a 1st grade classroom for the first time ever as a substitute teacher. I was hoping to decide whether leaving a career as a director of sales for a career as a public school elementary teacher would be my professional destiny. I quickly realized that the lessons I began learning on that Spring day from these students were nothing I ever expected. My first day quickly went from bad to worse. Discouraged and disheartened, I decided that day teaching was not for me. If it wasn’t for the seed that was planted in my heart that night as I prayed to God for direction and guidance, I would have never thought twice about returning to a classroom. That seed soon took root and I did end up returning to a classroom. I never imagined that teaching would be exactly what I needed. I always thought the teacher taught while the students just sat there and listened… God had a different plan. He has used my students to teach me.

Patience. Self-Control. Kindness. Love.

These are some of the lessons I have learned and continue to learn as a public school teacher through my experiences in the elementary school classroom. Read all about them in my book:

www.whattheyhavetaughtme.com

3 thoughts on “It All Started Here!

  1. Your humorous, descriptive stories from the classroom keep me smiling and thanking God, especially when I think I’M having a bad day, all I have to do is remember one of yours!

Leave a Reply

