Moving Up!

“Your new teaching assignment next year will be 5th grade.” Upon hearing those words from my principal, I immediately felt a sense of fear over the unknown. For the last eight years I have been teaching 3rd grade at my elementary school and had become very comfortable with my routine and knowledge of the material along with the age group of my students. Being a type A personality, I began to create a mental list of all I would need to accomplish this summer to prepare for my new assignment. I would have to learn new curriculum and review new teacher editions, recreate center activities and lesson plan ideas, redo my classroom bulletin boards and posters and the list went on along with my anxiety level. 

On the last day of school, I began moving all my things to my new 5th grade classroom. Ironically, my new classroom was right next to the classroom I had my very first year teaching 3rd grade. As I passed my first classroom, I began to think about my first year at the school and how overwhelmed and worried I was as a new teacher.  I remembered how much I had to learn and how much time I spent getting my classroom ready for my students. I remembered feeling fear over whether or not I would be successful in that grade. (I wrote all about it in the first chapter of my book, What They Have Taught Me…) Suddenly, my worries and fears were interrupted by a sense of peace and calmness. I know it was God, once again, reminding me that it would all work out just like it did eight years ago. 

As I finished moving into my new classroom, I began to feel a sense of excitement about this new change. As I looked through some of the 5th grade materials I became motivated and interested in the new curriculum. I felt energized and reminded that God has a good plan for me. I believe His plan will be to use this new experience and my new 5th graders to teach me the lessons He wants me to learn.

“For I know the plans I have for you,” says the LORD. “They are plans for good and not for disaster, to give you a future and a hope.” Jeremiah 29:11

LIFE LESSON: Change is inevitable in life. Sometimes we embrace it and other times we fight against it because we fear the unknown. Life may not always unfold the way we expect, but it will always be exactly what we need. 

God’s ultimate plan of hope for our future begins when we invite Jesus into our hearts to be our eternal source of love, peace, joy and encouragement so we can live each day without fear and fulfill the purpose and plan He has for our lives.



12 thoughts on “Moving Up!

  1. Dan, I have worked with you for the past 8 years, and there is no doubt, you will find the positives along with the negatives. Yes, your type A personality along with your compassion and kind soul will only bring you success. May you let go and find the joy in the changes that will be coming your way! I will miss you!

    • Thanks Janine! I will miss you and 3rd grade but I believe God has an amazing journey ahead for me this new school year! He continues to use each of us as teachers and our students to accomplish His purpose and plan in our lives.

  2. You will be amazing! I have no doubt that 5th grade is a great age for you to influence these kids positively. Remember they are going to middle school the following year so they need all the reinforcement they could possibly get from such a caring teacher. The boys and I miss you. You were an awesome role model for my boys. We were beyond blessed to have YOU in our lives.

  3. Can’t wait to see what God will do in you and through you this next year! “He who began a good work will continue it.” Perhaps He sees this as a promotion? :)

Leave a Reply

