Hope Rising

“I believe I can fly
I believe I can touch the sky
I think about it every night and day
Spread my wings and fly away
I believe I can soar
I see me running through that open door
I believe I can fly
I believe I can fly
I believe I can fly.”

As this R. Kelly song played in the background my 5th graders began to depart the classroom for the last time. Joy, sadness and hope filled my heart. They were now officially finished with their elementary school career and headed to middle school. These were some of the departing memories and hopes they wrote in their year end reflection letters and memory books…

“D.R.E.A.M. = D – are to dream  R -ealize I can do it   E -xperience success      A -ccomplish anything M -iddle school here I come!

“I’m sad to leave elementary school, but I can’t wait to be able to tryout for the middle school basketball team. It will by my first step in achieving my goal of becoming a N.B.A. star.”

“I’m grateful for music class and chorus this year because it helped me realize that I want to be a singer and entertain people.”

Their words reminded me that most children are naturally hopeful. They believe their dreams and goals are possible. In most cases, life circumstances and disappointments have not yet had a chance of damaging or discouraging their aspirations at their age. They will need encouragement from time to time when it comes to supporting their dreams, but that initial spark of hope began within their spirit. Of course, like many of us, their goals and dreams may change as they grow older, but as long as they stay hopeful and believe in themselves – the sky is the limit!

LIFE LESSON: Hope is defined as a verb: to desire with expectation of obtainment; to expect with confidence. At times in life, it is difficult to remain hopeful especially when we face disappointing and painful circumstances. During those moments, we need to remember hope is activated when we reach into our spirit and confidently expect something good to happen even though in the physical realm nothing may seem to be changing.

“May the God of hope fill you with all joy and peace as you trust in Him, so that you may overflow with hope by the power of the Holy Spirit.” Romans 15:13

4 thoughts on “Hope Rising

  1. The last day of 5th grade is emotional for both the students and the teachers. An exciting new chapter is opening, but it’s sad to say goodbye to that closeness children feel while in elementary school. Just know that all your efforts and lessons (both academic & moral) will be remembered long after they leave!

Leave a Reply

